Health & Wellness

The Warrior Health & Wellness initiative launched in July 2013 to combat the health disparities faced by our Warriors. Embedded within each program area, Warrior Wellness promotes the physical, mental, and social well-being of our Warriors, staff, and community. It has become the 6th point in the Warrior Code of Conduct!!

From the Blog

Workout Warriors

Program Information
2018 Program Dates
Session Registration Request
Annual Information Form

Walk to Run Club

2018 Club Dates

Bank of America Chicago Marathon

Opportunity Knocks is an official charity partner of the Bank of America Chicago Marathon! Runners will be fundraising for Opportunity Knocks as they train to run 26.2 miles on October 7, 2018.

Join Team OK
Meet the 2017 Runners
Fundraising Pages

Community Partners

 

 

OK HEALTH WAIVERS

Physical Activity Waiver
Participant Examination Form
Medical Information Release
Food Policy

Contact

Jeni Pierce
Health & Wellness Director
jeni@opportunityknocksnow.org

Workout Warriors

FITNESS ACTIVITIES | APPLIED H&W LEARNING 

Workout Warriors is Opportunity Knocks’ program that provides health & wellness activities during the After Opps program breaks – program activities are a combination of fitness and applied learning wellness topics.

Flexibility

WINTER SESSION 1

Topic: Warriors will practice flexibility exercises and learn how being flexible helps in all areas of life!

Program Dates:
Monday, February 5, 2018
Wednesday,February 7, 2018
Monday,February 12, 2018
Wednesday,February 14, 2018

Registration Open: January 22, 2018

Lungs

WINTER SESSION 2

Topic: The respiratory system and how to breathe with exercise!

Program Dates:
Monday, March 19, 2018
Wednesday, March 21,2018
Monday, March 26,2018
Wednesday, March 28,2018

Registration Open: March 5

Aerobics

SPRING SESSION 1

Topic: Exercising our healthy hearts

Program Dates:
Monday, May 7, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Registration Open: April 23

First Aid

SPRING SESSION 2

Topic: Preventing and taking care of injuries

Program Dates:
Monday, June 18, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Registration Open: June 4

Balance

SUMMER SESSION 1

Topic: Practicing balance activities in the fitness room and learning how to balance other ares of our lives (and meals!)

Program Dates:
Monday, July 30, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018

Registration Open: July 16

Snack Attack!

SUMMER SESSION 2

Topic: making healthy snack choices

Program Dates:
Monday, September 17, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018

Registration Open: September 3

Strength

FALL SESSION 1

Topic: Building strong muscles and minds!

Program Dates:
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Registration Open: October 22